What’s new, pussycat?

23Jul10

First, and most importantly:

I’VE HIT THE HALF WAY POINT IN FUNDRAISING!!!!!!!!!

Ok, now that we have that out of the way, here are the details:  One of the pending mailed in (from my friend Ginny’s company Specialty Car Co.) donations I knew about posted on Wednesday, which puts my fundraising total at $1,236.50…which means only $1063.50 left to go. I still have one more pending donation that I know of for $150, so that would put me a mere $913.50 away from the minimum required amount. But I need all the help I can get to reach that! Donate here. Every $5 helps.

Unfortunately, the matching gift I was hoping for was declined. It’s a bit of a long story, but since the donation was made last November (during my Oz Fundraiser and Silent Auction), the request had to be submitted by January 31 of this year. We didn’t find out about the potential until April, so we were too late. But no one told my coworker that. Such is life. We’ve now learned the rules, so hopefully we can do it right next time.

I’m still working on other ideas, and need to get past “idea” stage into “event” stage. I have a few crafty items I’ve done (or can do custom) that I’m selling, but haven’t gotten any decent pictures of them to post anywhere. There are 2 main things: small pink ribbon rhinestone french hook earrings (asking for a $10 donation per pair) or knitted bangle bracelets (asking $15-20 each, depending on the yarn). The bracelets I’m leaning toward doing as custom orders, but I still need to get it out there that I’m doing them and what the options are. I do have 1 sample:

I have a few other colors ready to go and a few possible patterns in waiting–and about 40 bangles from which to choose from (all different shapes and sizes)…I have just lacked the time and/or inspiration to do them. I’m also willing to do other custom knit-work, but prices on that will vary greatly depending on what I’m doing. If you are interested in any of these ideas, send me an email at hokiegir1 (that’s a one, not an L) (at) yahoo (dot) com.

Other things to do include the yard sale. Still. It got hot very fast this year, so I’m now aiming for an end of August/early September date, and hoping things cool off early.

I also did some training last weekend. You can read Kristen’s post about it, but she doesn’t say how much of a wuss I was. Really, I did stick it out, and I don’t think I actually complained too much…but I was slow, and miserable. And I know everyone says it’s not a race…had it been on the event, I wouldn’t have even felt the slightest bit guilty, because we could all have been at our own pace and would have just met up back at camp without a problem. But we weren’t. And the girls (Pam, Kristen and Julie) were very sweet to not leave me–even when I told them to…and even shared their BodyGlide for the massive blister that popped up on my heel and Kristen dunked her bandanna in her water to help cool me off (I got SEVERELY overheated, despite hydrating). All in all, we walked about 9.5 miles, and we were “on the route” for about 4 hours…but that includes numerous stops, because I forgot to pause my phone.

Tomorrow is Preview Expo day! After the training walk, I got another sock recommendation from a few people, so while I won’t be buying socks (I ordered a pair on Amazon with gift cards I earned from Swagbucks…YAY for free stuff!), there may be some other gear I still need and/or want. I never went to Expo when I walked in 2007, so this is new for me. I’m looking forward to seeing Pam again (Kristen is currently walking in the Boston 3 Day…she’s somewhere between lunch and camp!! and Julie has another event that conflicted, but I’m sure I’ll see them again before October when they will be walker-stalking in Atlanta!) and meeting a few other Tweeps that couldn’t make it to the training walk.

4 Responses to “What’s new, pussycat?”

  1. 1 @ onnie

    Hang in there sweeie! Soooo proud of you!

  2. Oh shush. I would only consider you a wussie if you hadn’t stuck it out through to the end. You did great and now you have a starting point to build on for the rest of your training!

    Congrats on your fundraising successes!

    ~ Kristen


  1. 1 Tweets that mention What’s new, pussycat? « Lilly's (note)Pad -- Topsy.com
  2. 2 Breast Cancer : : 3 Day Blog Round Up for July 23rd – 29th! - Cancer Health Center

Leave a Reply

