Safety while training: There’s an app for that

02Jun10

I recently got a Blackberry. Despite the extra monthly data plan cost which DH insists could be used for more Disney points instead of my phone, I love it.

One of my favorite things is the availability of walking apps. I’ve now tried two, and I’m completely and totally in love with the second one.

But first: the one I didn’t love. It’s called Endomondo, and really, the only thing I didn’t like is that the GPS feature didn’t want to find me. In terms of appearance and general ease of use, it was good. And it did track my time, so when I entered into Daily Mile, I knew precisely how long I had taken. But on routes that my mapping may not have been perfect, I didn’t get as precise a distance tracking.

The one I love actually was harder to install. It could just be that I’m challenged because the phone was new, or I just wasn’t reading, or whatever. But it took me 3 tries to actually get it. Actually, after setting up the web link today, I think the problem was that I was trying to add the web program as the app, without adding the app. I know it sounds confusing, but in Blackberry App World, there are 2 links: BiM Active (the web link) and Bones in Motion (the app). I Think I tried to do the first instead of the second.

Anyway…once I got it installed, finally, it has been FANTASTIC. The GPS actually finds me. There is even a “GPS Location” you can do before you start to make sure it’s picking you up. It tracks times, as well as split times. And when I set up the web program today, I discovered a great safety feature for those who walk alone. You can read their blog about it here, but the gist is that you set up an account, then turn on Live Tracking on your phone. A trusted friend or significant other can then log in with the password you give them and watch your progress in live (updates every 5 minutes) time. They can see if you have gone off route, or if you stop for too long at an unplanned place.

Aside from the additional safety, this also tracks precise distances and times, and allows you to view them online, including elevation. My last walk, a 6.6 miler, I started out with music, but then the weather started to turn, so I packed it away. I can actually tell by my split times where I did this. I was walking almost 3 mph, then I dropped to about 2.5 without it. I can also see how many “Stop and Stretch” breaks I took (some were picture breaks, too…), and where I was when I stopped at Dollar Tree to use the rest room (THANK YOU to the great employees there for letting me do that!).

So get walking…and use an app for safety! Both of these are free (though if you don’t have an unlimited data plan, you may have to pay for data use).

3 Responses to “Safety while training: There’s an app for that”

  1. 1 Cat

    I’ve been looking for a good BB app for walking. Thanks so much for the rec! I can’t wait to try it out!


  1. 1 Tweets that mention Safety while training: There’s an app for that « Lilly's (note)Pad -- Topsy.com
  2. 2 Coordination fail! | Fat Girl Walkin'

Leave a Reply

