Missed Opportunities

24May10

I took pictures on my training walk last Sunday with the intent of posting them here Monday. But our lives were turned upside down on Monday, and still haven’t entirely settled back down.

At about 4:30pm, I got a call from DH. “Pray harder than you ever have before. P collapsed in his office.” (P being the owner of DH’s company).

A little while later, we were told he didn’t make it. It’s been really hard for DH. P was his mentor. Almost like a father to him.

Tuesday was really hard for both of us. I was still a crying wreck for over half the day. Wednesday was a little better, until the viewing that night. Then we went to dinner with some of the family. A good time, yes, but bittersweet. And we didn’t get home until after midnight, so Thursday I was just completely exhausted. Mentally and physically drained. Friday, I was in an all day “retreat” for work. It wasn’t until Saturday that life started to get back to normal, even a little.

I got up early (about 6:30) and went to lead my training walk. Then I did my normal errands…and went to SugarFoot to get yarn for a sweater/jacket, and then out to dinner with DH.

Sunday, we went to the mall, had lunch and saw the new Shrek movie (hilarious, though not quite as good as the others have been). We had planned to do my training walk in the mall together, but lunch wasn’t sitting well with me, so we just did 1 lap, and browsed a few stores, then went home.

My total miles for last week: a measly 4.5.

This week, I will do better. I have to do better. Yes, 3 mile walks really are important…because if something is bothering you after 3 miles, imagine how annoying/painful it will be after 10. Or 15. Or 20. Luckily, I’ve used my gear on enough 3 milers that I’m pretty comfortable with it, and I’m not really stressing that this week, I’m up to 5 miles on Saturday.

Actually, I’m kinda looking forward to it.

No Responses Yet to “Missed Opportunities”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

